Coming Back: What I Love about BlogHer

BlogHer ’16 is eighteen days away.  It would probably be too ambitious to try and write a post every day between now and then, but I am not one to back down from a challenge.  I’ve written many posts in my head, but with roughly two spare hours a day, it is hard to prioritize blog posts over laundry, thank you notes and general relaxation.  Writing, however, is still where my passion is and I want to get back to it.  BlogHer usually forces me to start putting my thoughts down.

I could just blame it on the movies.   I started at DVD.com right after I wrote my last post.  It’s been about five years since I made any effort to watch good movies.  Having children eliminated most trips to the movie theater and usually dictates getting to bed before 11, but now I am addicted.

Diem

My husband and I have embraced the movie night at home.  We’ve stopped aimlessly surfing and have much better viewing habits.  We are still three seasons behind on Game of Thrones, but I at least feel like I am part of the cultural norm now.  And, VEEP, fills those short snacking half hours, though mirroring the current election a little too closely.  I’ve caught up on the Hunger Games series, seen award winning movies like Brooklyn and The Martian, or simply laughed my butt off watching Deadpool.  All without commercial breaks and in high quality Blu-ray.

Rather than blame the movies, I could blame the work blog we started from scratch.  However, I have a rock star writer who has my back on that one [and she’ll be attending BlogHer ’16 for the first time].  I try from time to time to write, but I’m not a movie critic.  It is, however, a place to see my favorite movies on one of our Red Hot lists.

No, I think what’s really going on is that it is more complicated at this point in life to be transparent.   Whatever I write here reflects upon me and my personal brand.  I am conscious about what legacy I am leaving for my kids.  Despite all the challenges of being a full-time working mom in Silicon Valley, it still is very clear to me that I  have to take a moment to pause that these words will follow me around.  Yet, I also want to be a champion for women who want to be glass breakers.

This is a start.  Let’s see what the next seventeen days bring.

P.S.  This didn’t get published last night due to one little girl who refused to go to sleep.  Guess I am doing two today.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

